What I’ve been drinking while not blogging and studying

Comps are over. They sucked.  I studied way more than I should have.  I believe, Comprehensive exams are a minor form of academic hazing to show how dumb we are.  It worked.  Now that my mind is at ease (wait, I have to write a dissertation…where did this come from), I have a lot of catching up to do both on here and at home.  I’ve written a few reviews at Louisvillebeer.com, but I’ve drank a lot of decent beer along the way.  To the beer!
Upland Komodo Dragon Black IPA (6.5% ABV): Roast bomb, but where the hell did the hops go?  Granted it was brewed in November but I drank this in early February.  This tastes just like a roasty porter.  Black IPA fail.  You let me down Upland, you let me down.  I had somewhat high expectations for the beer.  What’s worse is I picked it up at Whole Foods so it was probably more expensive than anywhere else.  Crap.
Anchorage Brewing Brewing Co. Bitter Monk (9% ABV): My buddy Stephen brought this over during a tasting.
I had my premonitions since I’m not a big fan of Belgians or Brett.  This beer is a Belgian Style DIPA aged in French Oak Chardonnay Barrels.  So I don’t like Brett, Belgians, or many things aged in wine barrels…hmm.  I went into this beer like going to the dentist, knowing good things weren’t going to come from this.  I took a hearty backhand that day. Crisp. Sweet. And the color and pour of the beer really make it worth it.  Not a gulping beer at all.  Although it was “winter”, I could see this beer being one that would linger great during a summers day.  Good work Hitron.  Damn fine beer.
Yazoo Brewing Sue (9.5% ABV): Sue, how do you do?  An Imperial Smoke Porter coming outta Nashville, TN.  The beer represents the city well with enough smoke in the beer to fill a country music bar.  I’ve never really tried smokey beers, but I felt like I was messing with Sasquatch because the beer had a strong smoked beef jerky taste to it.  Mmm fried meat and beer all in one.  The smoke really lingered on the tongue which reminded me of kissing someone who smokes, but in a good way…not an ashtray way.  Like my wife after St. Patricks Day a year ago.   This beer threw me for a loop and I loved it.
No sleep, til Brooklyn!  It’s been almost a year since I last had Brooklyn Black Ops Imperial Stout (10.7% ABV).  Last time, it was the thinnest, most bubble gum tasting stout I’ve ever had.  The $21 dollar price tag made me cringe with each sip.  So it’s sat in the back of my cellar like a shamed dog, waiting for it’s chance to do something right.  Would a year make it better or would the champagne yeast still need more time.  Result, better, but not by too much.  A little more carbonation and mouth feel to the beer, but still unimpressed.  More chocolate notes came out in the beer, but still not worth the $21 pricetag.  Looks like my last bottle will have another year to sit and think about how crappy its been.
Lawson’s Finest Maple Imperial Stout- The beer cost me about $15, then an extra $35 to get all of it on the flight…so it better be friggin good for all the hype Lawson gets.   Ashley and I shared this and I had all hopes it would taste like Founders Canadian Breakfast Stout.  Close, but no cigar.  That’s two cigar references and I don’t smoke unless I’m celebrating a birth or bachelor party.  I don’t need either anytime soon.  Very boozy and warm with just hints of maple lingering on the tongue.  Not a lot of sweetness or overpowering sugar flavor to the beer.  I honestly thought it was kinda plain for an imperial stout.  Crap.  Maybe I didn’t pair it with the right foods. Oh well.  Aunt Jemima shakes her head in Condiment Heaven.
3 Floyds and Mikkeller- Broogoop
Broogoop is a buckwheat wine style beer beer. It was O-tay.

Goose Island- King Henry
Typically, when there is a line out the door for a beer, it usually means there is either a lot of hype, it’s supposed to be good, or craft beer geeks are just really that lame.  Only two apply.  King Henry kinda flew under the radar outside of the Chicago area with only a few samplings of places here in Louisville selling it.  And when it was sold, you had to ask because it was behind the counter.  Crazy ass beer geeks.  The beer pours a darker brown color, unlike your typical by-the-book barleywines.  Hands down, best barleywine I have ever had it my life and it wasn’t even aged in the bottle for very long (well despite the bourbon barrel aging).  I went into this beer with no expectations and was amazing with how sweet, boozy, bourbony and smooth this beer was.  Some heat, but not overwhelming.  I nursed this like a young pup.  I’d tell you to go get some, but you can’t since its gone.
He’Brew Vertical Jewbelation 14
OJ Simpson…not a jew, but this beer is quite a tasty brew!  A mixed blend of their 8-14 Jewbelations and then aged in a Sazerac Rye Whiskey Barrel.  I love this beer, Stephen didn’t. He sucks. Respect the power of the Schwartz man.  This beer tasted and smelled like a shot of caramel bourbon.  Loved it.
Founders Curmudgeons Better Half
read it here.
Odell Woodcut #5 Belgian Quad
Why not celebrate finishing Comps but with a $26 beer.  Was it worth the $26? No. Was it pretty tasty, yes.  You’re growing on me Belgians…you’re growing on me.  Lots of places gave it so-so reviews and their were complaints about a loss of carbonation.  As you can see in the picture, not here.  Tons of carbonation and darker fruits, smooth sipping, and sticky.  I drank it before at GABF, but won’t be shelling out anymore $$ for the series.
Boulder Beer Killer Penguin 2010
This beer has been staring at me in the cellar saying drink me.  I cannot think of this beer without being reminded of the classic film, Billy Madison.  Oh, silly Penguin.  The booziness has mellowed along with some of the malts, doesn’t stay on your tongue as much.  Hops have been overtaken by a syrupy sweetness.  This beer was good, but didn’t mix well with the Irish Car Bomb taken prior.  Happy St. Paddys Day.  Stupid being Irish. Ugh.
2010 and 2011 KBS
What a difference in aging.  2011 lost all of the coffee and is all bourbon and chocolate.  2011 is like a barista’s pants at Starbucks, coffee everywhere.  Wait what, this stuff is almost $25 for a 4 pack.  Wait what, it sold out pretty fast.  Wait what, this stuff is friggin awesome.  It says Kentucky on the beer, what else do you need? My all-time favorite beer suckas.
Expresson Oak Aged Yeti
The wife brought this back from her trip to Michigan on a whim.  What an awesome wife, it made her even more awesome when I saw it was 2010.  Still yeti-size proportions of coffee up front with a nice dark chocolate bite.  I only think she got this beer cause she was so flirtatious with the Great Divide guys at GABF. Hussy!
Drakes Hopocalypse Black Label
You don’t see many triple IPAs around much.  Maybe Founders Devil Dancer is the only other triple IPA I’ve ever had since it borders on a barleywine category.  My buddy Jay sent me this along with a regular Hopocolypse a month or so ago after I had sent him a shipment of beers.  The beer is an orange creamsicle malt bomb with huge citrus notes on the nose.  The beer smelled friggin fantastic.  I could probably call this one of the dankest IPAs I’ve ever had that Bob Marley would be proud.  Like most of my bombers, I shared with the wife.  She approved.  Drakes make a damn fine IPA.

About johnking82

Homebrewer, Runner, Educator.... Giddy as a kid on Christmas about good beer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

